Campen und Trampen in Japan

Deutsche Version:

Ich habe mich mal noch ein wenig mit den im Titel stehenden Methoden des Geldsparens auseinandergesetzt, was unter diesem Link nachgelesen werden kann =).
Ansonsten darf ich noch verkünden das eine Studienkollegin von mir, mich zusammen mit ihrer Tochter in Japan besuchen wird! Ab dem 3. Juli bis zum 24. selbigen Monats wird dann Japan gen Süden unsicher gemacht. Abholen werde ich die beiden in Tokyo wo wir ein paar Tage verbringen werden und uns dann wahrscheinlich auch einen Mietwagen besorgen um flexibler zu sein und Kosten zu sparen. Wird ne geile Sache und ich freue mich drauf =).
Auch ein weiterer Studienkollege wird mich Ende Januar/Anfang Februar 2017 in Sapporo auf Hokkaido besuchen (sofern ich es finanziell so lange durchhalte :D), wo wir uns dann zusammen u.a. das Schneefestival in Sapporo anschauen werden! Ein Highlight auf das ich mich jetzt schon freuen werde. Alles weitere wird dann im Laufe der Reise geklärt und berichtet. Jetzt heissts ersteinmal: Ankommen!

English Version:

After a great hitchhike experience in New Zealand I thought about trying it in Japan too, though I never heard of the possibility there. I thought it would be the same situation as in Germany, that it’s a) not known by the people and b) not practiced by anryone, but nevertheless did I find a (in my opinion) reliable source in terms of hitchhiking. It’s called the hitchwiki, which lists the do’s and don’ts of hitchhiking in Japan and gives some remarkable tips on how to practice it. It’s worth reading if one’s interested in this kind of topic and looks for himself of a cheaper way to travel around. Fare for Busses and Trains can get really expensive especially over a longer timeframe. Hence it’s not just a great opportunity to save money (even if it takes longer to get from A to B), but also to get in contact with the people , which is one of the main reasons for my journey.
As I asked japanese friends of mine, they denied to have ever witnessed someone hitchhiking and said that it is more common in Hokkaido, probably because the population is much lower than in the rest of Japan.
The article gives the impression that it’s quite easy to hitchhike and that the average waiting time is about 20 minutes. I think it may be pretty sujective, but also naiive of me to believe this, or better to hope, that I will experience the same. Something about the line was also written for New Zealand, and though for many parts of the country it may be true, it is not for other parts. It always depends on the season, the weather and the region one is in. So it happend to me that I needed to wait for more then 4 hours to get a ride.
I hope that it won’t take too long till I get fetched but even if, there is the possibility to camp! It’s basically everywhere allowed in Japan, except of private property of course. As long as you do not bother someone else, one could even sleep in public parks! Yes you heard right. What would be considered at least as rude in western society is ‚ok‘ in Japan. Certainly the people are more or less uesed to the sight, because many homeless people do live in parks, under bridges and benches. The golden rule is and always will be: As long as you do not bother someone, it’s alright!
I could even pitch my tent on the roadside behind conbinis (after I formally asked of course) and wait for the next day if hitchhiking did not bear any fruits at this one. Pretty convenient. Here is an article about urban camping. One guy did this kind of lifestyle for a whole consecutive 9 months, and got only checked by the police around 15 times (just to be sure that he’s not an illegal immigrant) and was just asked once to leave (without further consequences). I’m not sure if I would be doing urban camping, but at least it’s good news to mee that I may camp in National Parks and everywhere else in nature. I do want to do some great and longer hikes and do not intend to pay large sums.

Furthermore are both ways a great opportunity to save money for other expanses, like a three night overnight stay in a tradiotional Ryokan (traditional japanese inns with (in most cases) an additional onsen)! Or to prolong my stay with my own means in general. It will be quite an adventure from here onwards^^.

P.S. I was a bit too excited. I found that it’s not allowed everywhere. National Parks for example are generally a no-go except designated campsites. However, in my opinion there is nothing wrong with me going camping there, if I leave the place as i found it, which is always my duty.

Über VagabundenReise

Manga und Anime Narr
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Uncategorized abgelegt und mit , , , , , , , , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Trage deine Daten unten ein oder klicke ein Icon um dich einzuloggen:

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Abmelden / Ändern )


Du kommentierst mit Deinem Twitter-Konto. Abmelden / Ändern )


Du kommentierst mit Deinem Facebook-Konto. Abmelden / Ändern )

Google+ Foto

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Google+-Konto. Abmelden / Ändern )

Verbinde mit %s