Studying japanese

Deutsche Version:

Hier mal noch ein kleiner Beitrag dazu wie ich Gedenke möglichst effektiv japanisch zu studieren und mit welchen Mitteln ich das tue.

English Version:

studying japanese is not as easy as I thought it would be. Well certainly, to learn another language is always difficult especially when it’s such a big difference compared to German. But in the very beginning I thought I could oversee the language, whats not anymore so^^.
My first attempt to learn the language was a couple of years ago, out of interest. I bought a Kanji dictionary with all the 1945 important Kanji to know (which made the language manageable for me). As I recall I memorized up to 300 Kanji back than, though of course most of them are already forgotten. The intensities of my real studies distracted me from my original purpose.

As I was in New Zealand I decided to spent a year in Japan afterwards, hence I needed to learn the language for real this time. Therefore I got a book from my workmate on the farm, a very good one indeed. It’s called ‚Yokosoo – An Invitation to Contemporary Japanese‘, from 1994 and published in America. Not that there are just more Kanji used than in every other book I had a glance upon so far, no, even the lessons are greatly constructed and the grammar parts are always easy to understand. In each lesson there is a list of new vocabulary, but also a section in which reading and writing is promoted, and different excercises to test ones knowledge.

For now I’m mostly concerned about the grammar. If I know the rules, then the rest would just be learning new vocabulary.
What I learn and write will be published on lang-8 a free website to let someone who speaks the native language of your destined one, correct your writings and even give advices and hints for a better way. Comes pretty good in handy if you have no other japanese friends. A way to actually read and listen to japanese is (besides Anime and Manga) the NewsWeb Easy from the NHK. There you find short News with Kanji and Furingana (little Hiragana above the Kanji), to read along and get to know the pronounciation.

A third way (which I didn’t take) ist to keep strict with the JLPT (Japanese Language Proficiency Test), which you just need for a specific certificate in regards of your language knowledge (basically if you want to get a real job in Japan you need N2 level. They distinguish between N5 (Beginner) up to N1 (practically native speaker). Each Level requires more Kanji, grammar and vocab. to learn). One can find workbooks and sheets for every level online or here.

My aim is to reach a solid N3 level during my intended one year stay in Japan. As a beginner one always learns faster than if you already got some good knowledge. I do not have the money, nor the time, for a language school, hence I will try to establish my Japanese by speaking with Hosts (couchsurfing, and wwoofing) and people I meet on the way. Probably the best way to experience a new language first hand and to get in contact with people.
I even had a look on the internet to find a Tandem Partner, but right until now, no one replied to my messages.

However, do I have to use my ressources now, and learn the grammar to get some basic knowlede along with some Kanji and other vocab., so that I’m at least able to communicate a little.

Über VagabundenReise

Manga und Anime Narr
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Japan, Reisen abgelegt und mit , , , , , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Trage deine Daten unten ein oder klicke ein Icon um dich einzuloggen:

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Abmelden / Ändern )


Du kommentierst mit Deinem Twitter-Konto. Abmelden / Ändern )


Du kommentierst mit Deinem Facebook-Konto. Abmelden / Ändern )

Google+ Foto

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Google+-Konto. Abmelden / Ändern )

Verbinde mit %s